If you are gluten-free, then you’re probably used to scanning food labels for things like wheat, barley, and rye. While these are the most common grains that contain the gluten protein, they are not the only ones. Gluten can be found in many foods containing grains or flour, but they are not always clearly labeled. Below is a list of some other common ingredients that contain gluten to look out for
Also knows and macaroni wheat, this high protein grain is often used in the making of pasta and bread (two foods gluten-free people tend to avoid.)
A combination of grains of specific wheat species, farro is a food you want to steer clear of if you are gluten-free. Farro is commonly combined with other grains and flours for baking, or can be used on its own in salads and soups.
Graham flour is a type of whole wheat flour that uses the entire grain in the milling process. Unsurprisingly, Graham flour is used in the making of graham crackers and pie crusts.
Khorasan Wheat or Kamut
This large ancient grain wheat can be served as it stands, or milled into flour. It can be found in many gluten-heavy foods like cereal, cookies, pancakes, pasta, beer and bread.
Malt, malt extract, Malt vinegar
Malt is a cereal grain that is dried in a specific way called “malting.” The extract is often used in brewing, distilling, and baking of certain foods. Malt vinegar refers to the process of malting barley and then brewing an ale to turn in to vinegar. Anything with the word “malt” in it likely contains the gluten protein, and is probably best avoided.
Seitan is the Japanese equivalent of wheat gluten, and is actually made from the gluten protein. Most common in Asian cuisine, seitan is often used as a substitute for meat or tofu. This is one food to stay far away from since it is essentially pure gluten.
Semolina is actually derived from durum wheat, and is commonly used in the production of pasta, cereal, and puddings or porridges.