It can seem like gluten is lurking behind every corner, hiding in mysterious items on the ingredients list. By now we should all know that soy sauce often contains gluten, but here are some other places you could look to root out gluten from your diet.
If you recently went gluten-free or live with others who eat gluten check your cooking surfaces and appliances. If someone sliced some bread on a cutting board it will cross-contaminate your gluten-free meal if you don’t clean it first. Same thing goes for microwaves and toasters – if someone heated some glutenous food it could cross contaminate your food. If you live with those who eat gluten invest in your own toaster. Make sure you clearly label it as a gluten-free only toaster otherwise someone might accidentally contaminate it with gluten. Outdoor grills could be contaminated if someone toasted buns on it. Consider replacing the grilling grate or opt for a George Foreman.
Kikkoman and most other soy sauces contain gluten. Since teriyaki sauce is based on soy sauce, it’s no surprise that most teriyaki sauces, too, contain gluten. There are plenty of gluten-free options for both soy sauce and teriyaki sauce, but it’s still vital to check the ingredients panel. Imitation crab, popular in sushi like the California roll, is usually made with wheat to hold it together.
Store-bought broths can contain wheat. You’re better off making this nutritious liquid on your own. Canned foods and soups often contain gluten as a thickening agent. Here’s a list of Campbell’s US products that don’t contain gluten. As always, make sure you read the ingredient label. Wheat is also used as a filler in many meat products – make sure you read the ingredients panel on all hot dogs and sausages. If you’re vegetarian, gluten is often used in imitation meat like veggie burgers.