July 4th is literally right around the corner!
With so many festivities, friends and barbeques sure to occupy your time you may forget to think that the foods you’re eating might contain gluten, even in the smallest amounts.
The tricky thing with gluten is that it can show up in just about every food item that is on the market. That even includes sauces and condiments!
But before your mood turns blue in thinking you can’t enjoy anything at your neighborhood cook-out, take a look at the list of brands that happily produce gluten free products for your enjoyment.
Gluten Free Meats:
*Be sure to read the labels as many of these companies produce both gluten free and gluten filled products – gluten free products are clearly labeled.*
Gluten Free Condiments:
As far as condiments go, you are better off looking for the label. Many companies are now labeling their products if they are in fact gluten free – good news for us! But if there is a product that doesn’t seem to contain a gluten ingredient but still doesn’t contain that “gluten free” label – give the company a call or do some online searching. Condiments are probably the sneakiest ways of consuming unwanted gluten. Check out the GFCF Diet for their list of gluten free condiments produced by a variety of companies.
Sides and more:
Look for naturally gluten free sides such as fruit and veggies, take a look at the bag of chips to see if they are gluten free (many of them are!), don’t chomp into that cookie unless you brought it or know it came from a gluten free source. Be smart and you’ll be fine!
Have a great gluten free holiday and remember, just because you are gluten free doesn’t mean you can’t join in on the fun!